> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.up.telestream.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# UP.Workflow Activation

You can determine the activation state of a workflow through the *Manage Workflow View* .

# **Activating a Workflow**

For a workflow to run, the workflow must be activated. A workflow that isn’t activated doesn’t process media assets added to the workflow. You can’t submit jobs to a workflow that isn’t activated.

<Note>
  In the *Manage Workflow View* , a green dot next to the name of a workflow indicates the workflow is activated.
</Note>

1. To activate a workflow, do one of the following in the *Manage Workflow View*:
   * Select the workflow, and click the *Activate* button towards the top of the *Manage Workflow View.*
   * Right-click the workflow, and select *Activate* from the drop-down menu.
2. Click the three-dot menu to the extreme right of the workflow listing, and choose *Activate.*\
   \
   If the workflow is valid, UP.Workflow activates the workflow. If the workflow isn’t valid, UP.Workflow displays an error message. If UP.Workflow displays an error message, to view the errors, click *View Errors*.

UP.Workflow displays the workflow on the *Workflow Designer* canvas with the outline pane open. Yellow icons indicate errors in the workflow.

# **Deactivating a Workflow**

To prevent a workflow from running, deactivate the workflow. A deactivated workflow doesn’t process media assets added to the workflow. You can’t submit jobs to a deactivated workflow.

<Note>
  In the *Manage Workflow View* , if there is no green dot next to the name of a workflow, the workflow is deactivated.
</Note>

To deactivate a workflow, do one of the following in the *Manage Workflow View*:

* Select the workflow, and click the *Deactivate* button towards the top of the *Manage Workflow View.*
* Right-click the workflow, and select *Deactivate* from the drop-down menu.
* Click the three-dot menu to the extreme right of the workflow listing, and choose *Deactivate.*

UP.Workflow deactivates the workflow.
